Sign up

Profile photo

* - field required

National tourism portal
ENG
Map of Russia

Sign in


Sign up Forgot password?

Stavropol Krai , Pyatigorsk

Goryachaya Mountain Eagle Monument

The official symbol of the Caucasus Mineral Water consortium is the emblem of an eagle. This symbol is known not only in Russia but also abroad. In 1903, for the 100-year anniversary of the Pyatigorsk resort, a sculpture of an eagle was installed. It ended up becoming an emblem not just for the Pyatigorsk resort, but for the entire Caucasus Mineral Water region. The sculpture depicts a mountain legend about an eagle that was bitten by a venomous snake. The eagle escaped an inevitable death thanks to the therapeutic waters on Goryachaya Mountain. The mountain is remarkable for its caves of karst origin. Тheir number is especially high on the southern slope. The sculpture was designed by the Novocherkassk artist Ivan Krylov.

The eagle is a strong bird, the king of the mountains, and  symbolizes the allegory of the healing powers of the Caucasus. And the snake is a cold, detestable, and poisonous reptile, inciting fear in people and symbolizing deadly diseases. There is a version that the mountain eagle recovered from a poisonous snake bite after drinking the local mineral water.

Locals and visitors saw the sculpture for the first time on May 1, 1901, on Goryachaya Mountain in a new park in honor of the grand opening of the health resort season.

Right after its installation, the Eagle Monument became very popular. Photographs were printed on postcards and in newspapers, and magazines published information about the Eagle. The sculpture also appeared on the cover of travel guides.

Following the example of the Eiffel Tower, which was originally rejected by Parisians, saying that the construction spoils the view of the city, and later establishing it as the symbol of the city, the Eagle Monument gradually became the symbol of Caucasus Mineral Waters.

Shortly thereafter, different variants of the eagle appeared in city parks in the Caucasus Mineral Water region and in other Russian health resorts.

The sculpture at the top of Goryachaya Mountain was changed more than once during the last hundred years.

The Pyatigorsk Health Resort Council and the Leningrad Works of Applied and Decorative Arts signed an agreement to restore the sculpture in November 1972. The concrete figure of the eagle was replaced with a bronze copy cast from a mold and completed at the monument sculpture factory in Leningrad on October 15, 1973.

It was this particular representation of the eagle, symbolizing recovery from disease, that became popular in the Caucasus Mineral Water region.

Tourist Information Center of Stavropol Krai / stavtourism.ru


Site on the map

Address: Stavropol Krai, Pyatigorsk city, 50 meters from the Chinese pavilion


:( Oops. We determined that there are untranslated content. Can use the automatic translation.

Регистрация

Фото профиля

* - поля, обязательные для заполнения

Национальный туристический портал
RUS
Карта России

Авторизация


Зарегистрироваться Забыли пароль?

Ставропольский край , Пятигорск

Орел на горе Горячей

  • 0
  •  

    Поделиться:

Официальный символ Кавказских Минеральных Вод — эмблема орла. Этот символ известен не только в России, но и за ее пределами. В 1903 году, к 100-летию Пятигорского курорта, была установлена скульптура орла, ставшая эмблемой не только Пятигорского курорта, но и всего района Кавказских Минеральных Вод. Автор ее воплотил в камне горскую легенду об орле, смертельно ужаленном змеей и нашедшем избавление от неминуемой гибели в струе целебной воды на горе Горячей. Гора интересна и своими пещерами карстового происхождения, их особенно много на южном склоне. Эскиз скульптуры предложил новочеркасский художник Иван Иванович Крылов.

Орел — сильная птица, «царь гор», символизирующий аллегорию «здоровых сил Кавказа». Змея же — холодное, мерзкое и ядовитое пресмыкающееся, вызывающее страх у людей, символизирующее болезни, которые могут погубить человека. Есть версия, что горный орел, которого укусила ядовитая змея, исцелился, выпив местную минеральную воду.

Жители и гости города впервые увидели скульптуру 1 мая 1901 года на Горячей горе в новом парке в честь торжественного открытия лечебного сезона.

Сразу же после появления скульптура Орла стала очень популярной, ее стали печатать на почтовых открытках, в газетных и журнальных полосах появилась информация об орле. Также скульптура была замечена на обложках путеводителей.

Следуя примеру Эйфелевой башне, которую парижане вначале не принимали, говоря о том, что сооружение портит вид города, а затем установили ее символом столицы Франции, так и орел постепенно стал символом Кавказских Минеральных Вод.

Вскоре различные образы орла появились в парках городов Кавказских Минеральных Вод и других курортов России.

Еще не раз за последние сто лет изменялась скульптура орла на вершине Горячей горы.

В 1972 году в ноябре был заключен договор между Пятигорским курортным советом и Ленинградским комбинатом декоративно-прикладного искусства о реставрации скульптуры орла. Цементная фигура орла была заменена на бронзовую копию, которая была отлита со слепка на заводе монументальной скульптуры в Ленинграде 15 октября 1973 года.

Таким образом, данный образ орла, символизирующий исцеление болезней, стал популярным на Кавказских Минеральных Водах.

Туристский информационный центр Ставропольского края / stavtourism.ru

Объект на карте

Адрес: Ставропольский край, г. Пятигорск, в 50 метрах от Китайской беседки