Sign up

Profile photo

* - field required

National tourism portal
ENG
Map of Russia

Sign in


Sign up Forgot password?

Saint Petersburg

Saint Isaac's Cathedral

St. Isaac's Cathedral is an outstanding example of late classicism in which some new trends are already noticeable (Neo-Renaissance, Byzantine style, eclecticism), as well as a unique architectural structure and a high-level centrepiece for the city center.

The history of St. Isaac's Cathedral starts in the times of Peter I. Peter was born on May 30, which is the day of St. Isaac of Dalmatia, a Byzantine monk who was canonized. It was decided to build he temple in honor of the saint near the Admiralty. It was decided to establish the new church by converting the former drawing house of the Admiralty.  A small wooden building covered with wooden boards, with ten mica windows, appeared to the south from the wharf in the summer of 1707. It is here that on February 19, 1712 Peter I married Catherine.

The Cathedral is 101.5 meters high, while it is approximately 100 meters long and wide. The outer diameter of the dome is 25.8 m.  The building is decorated with 112 solid granite columns of various sizes. The walls are lined with light gray marble from Ruskeala. The columns were put in place with the use of wooden scaffolding designed by the engineer Agustín de Betancourt. The frieze of one of the porticoes features a sculpture portraying Montferrand, the architect of the cathedral.

The line in the northern frieze of the portico, «The king shall rejoice in Thy strength, O Lord,» can be regarded as a conceptual expression of the entire structure.

The statues located on the corners and at the tops of the gables depict Twelve Holy Apostles (sculptor Vitali).

The official tourist portal of St. Petersburg / visit-petersburg.ru


Site on the map

Phone number: +7 (812) 315-43-61
Address: 4 St. Isaac's Square, Saint Petersburg


:( Oops. We determined that there are untranslated content. Can use the automatic translation.

Регистрация

Фото профиля

* - поля, обязательные для заполнения

Национальный туристический портал
RUS
Карта России

Авторизация


Зарегистрироваться Забыли пароль?

Санкт-Петербург

Исаакиевский собор

  • 0
  •  

    Поделиться:

Исаакиевский собор — выдающийся образец позднего классицизма, в котором уже проявляются новые направления (неоренессанс, византийский стиль, эклектика), а также уникальное архитектурное сооружение и высотная доминанта центральной части города.

Своим появлением Исаакиевский собор обязан Петру I. Петр родился 30 мая, в день Исаакия Далматского, византийского монаха, некогда причисленного к лику святых. Храм в честь этого святого было решено строить при Адмиралтействе. Для новой церкви было решено переоборудовать бывшую адмиралтейскую чертежную. Летом 1707 года к югу от верфи появилось небольшое деревянное здание крытое тесом с десятью слюдяными окошками. Именно здесь 19 февраля 1712 года Петр I венчался со своей женой Екатериной.

Высота собора 101,5 метра, длина и ширина — около 100 метров. Наружный диаметр купола — 25,8 метра. Здание украшает 112 монолитных гранитных колонн разных размеров. Стены облицованы светло-серым рускеальским мрамором. При установке колонн были использованы деревянные конструкции инженера А. Бетанкура. На фризе одного из портиков можно разглядеть скульптурное изображение самого архитектора Монферрана.

Фраза, помещенная во фризе северного портика, — «Господи, силою твоею возвеселится царь» — может считаться выражением идеи всего сооружения.

Статуи, расположенные на углах и вершинах фронтонов, представляют 12 святых апостолов (скульптор Витали) — ближайших учеников Иисуса Христа.

Официальный городской туристический портал Санкт-Петербурга / visit-petersburg.ru

Объект на карте

Телефон: +7 (812) 315-43-61
Адрес: г. Санкт-Петербург, Исаакиевская пл., д. 4