Sign up

Profile photo

* - field required

National tourism portal
ENG
Map of Russia

Sign in


Sign up Forgot password?

The Republic of Mari El

Mari Chodra National Park

Национальный парк
Национальный парк

In the Mari language, Mari Chodra means the «Mari forest.» This National Park was established in 1985. The park covers 36,600 hectares, most of which consist of pine and broad-leaved forests.

The National Park is famous for its karst lakes: Yalchik, Konan-Er, Tot-Er, Shut-Er, Glukhoe, Kichier, etc. One of the main objectives of the Mari Chodra Park is the preservation of these lakes. Some of them are situated in a preserved area of the park and are inaccessible to the public. In some cases, lakes may be temporarily closed to public access. The most popular lake for tourists is Yalchik Lake, the largest in all of Mari El. In fact it is two lakes, the Great Yalchik and the Small Yalchik, connected by a channel. According to legend, the lake was formed in place of a meadow that had caved in.

The National Park is inhabited by a variety of animals typical of the taiga (moose, bears), broad-leaved forests (squirrels, dormice) and the forest-steppe (brown hare, russet ground squirrel). At least 188 species of birds nest here, including the wood grouse, the mallard duck, snowy owl, and red-footed falcon. Some of the species are listed in the Russian Red Book, such as the black stork, the fish-hawk, the snake eagle, and the white-tailed eagle. The rivers and lakes of the park are inhabited by catfish, pike, tench, Crucian and Prussian carp. The European grayling can be found in branches of the Ilet river.

Hiking trails have been laid throughout the park. The ecology and natural discovery trail «The Trace of Mankind» includes the old Kazan road that connected Kazan and Tzarevokokshaysk (now Yoshkar-Ola). Emelyan Pugachev and his army passed this way through the Mari woods. Not far fr om the Konan-Er lake, there is an oak that is still called Pugachev's oak. And the guided tour «The Klenovogorye Trip» takes tourists to the Shungaldan site, where there is an excellent view of the Kerebelyak highland, wh ere the protected part of the park is located.

Since 2016, tourists must pay a fee to enter the park.

Site on the map



:( Oops. We determined that there are untranslated content. Can use the automatic translation.

Регистрация

Фото профиля

* - поля, обязательные для заполнения

Национальный туристический портал
RUS
Карта России

Авторизация


Зарегистрироваться Забыли пароль?

Республика Марий Эл

Национальный парк «Марий Чодра»

  • 0
  •  

    Поделиться:

Национальный парк
Национальный парк

В переводе с марийского языка «Марий Чодра» значит «марийский лес». Национальный парк создан в 1985 году. Его площадь — 36 600 гектаров; в основном территория парка покрыта сосновыми борами и широколиственными лесами.

Национальный парк известен своими карстовыми озерами — Яльчик, Конан-Ер, Тот-Ер, Шуть-Ер, Глухое, Кичиер... Одна из задач «Марий Чодра» — охрана этих озер. Часть из них находится в заповедной зоне, увидеть их невозможно, а к некоторым временно закрыт доступ отдыхающим. У туристов популярнее всего озеро Яльчик — самое большое озеро Марий Эла. На деле это два озера, Большой и Малый Яльчик, соединенные каналом. По легенде, озеро образовалось, когда провалился подмытый водой луг.

В национальном парке водятся здесь таежные животные, например, лоси и медведи, фауна хвойно-широколиственных лесов — белки, сони, и лесостепные виды — зайцы-русаки, рыжеватые суслики. Из птиц здесь есть глухари, кряквы, белые совы, кобчики — всего 188 видов птиц. Несколько видов, например, черный аист, скопа, змееяд, орлан-белохвост, занесены в Красную книгу России. В реках и озерах парка живут сомы, щуки, лини, золотые и серебряные карпы, а в протоках реки Илеть обитают европейские хариусы.

По территории «Марий Чодра» проложены туристические маршруты. В эколого-краеведческую тропу «След человека» входит старый Казанский тракт, который когда-то связывал Казань с Царевококшайском (сейчас — Йошкар-Ола). Емельян Пугачев со своим проходил этой дорогой через марийские леса; недалеко от озера Конан-Ер сохранился дуб, который называют дубом Пугачева. А во время экскурсии «Путешествие по Кленовогорью» туристы могут осмотреть со смотровой площадки «Шунгалдан» Керебелякскую возвышенность, где расположена заповедная зона национального парка.

С 2016 года введена плата за посещение территории национального парка.

Объект на карте