Sign up

Profile photo

* - field required

National tourism portal
ENG
Map of Russia

Sign in


Sign up Forgot password?

Vladimir Oblast , Bogolyubovo

Church of the Intercession on the Nerl

The white-stone Church of the Intercession on the Nerl is situated on a picturesque meadow where the Nerl river runs into the Klyazma river. Sources differ regarding the construction dates of the church. The widespread belief is that Church of the Intercession on the Nerl was built in 1165 by prince Andrew the Pious in memory of his son who died while marking to the Bulgarian Kingdom. The building site was selected by Andrew personally. This church is considered to be the first in Rus dedicated to the celebration of the Protection of the Blessed Virgin.

This memorial is world-famous for its graceful heavenward forms, and the elegance and transparency of its facade, decorated with carved stone. Its builders — the craftsmen of Vladimir — were true poets who created this stone fairy-tale that still enchants us with its heartwarming beauty. The church interior is equally beautiful. It was initially frescoed and richly furnished with precious items.

Excavations have shown that in ancient times, the Church of the Intercession on the Nerl was on three sides encircled by an open gallery, with the steps in the south-western corner leading up to the choir loft and balcony. The initial composition of the building bore a stepped, pyramidal nature. The hill at the foot of the church is a man-made mound that hides the foundation, which itself was raised to the level of the spring floods. The hill's slopes are covered with white stone.

Official Tourism Portal of Vladimirskaya Oblast / vladimirtravel.ru

Site on the map

Address: Владимирская обл., Суздальский р-н, с. Боголюбово


:( Oops. We determined that there are untranslated content. Can use the automatic translation.

Регистрация

Фото профиля

* - поля, обязательные для заполнения

Национальный туристический портал
RUS
Карта России

Авторизация


Зарегистрироваться Забыли пароль?

Владимирская область , Боголюбово

Церковь Покрова на Нерли

  • 6
  •  

    Поделиться:

Белокаменная церковь Покрова на Нерли расположена на живописном лугу в месте, где река Нерль впадает в Клязьму. Даты постройки церкви в различных источниках разнятся. Распространенным считается мнение, что церковь Покрова на Нерли была построена в 1165 году князем Андреем Боголюбским в память о погибшем сыне во время похода на Булгарское царство. Место, на котором стоит храм, было выбрано самим Андреем Боголюбским. Эта церковь считается первой на Руси, посвященной празднику Покрова Пресвятой Богородицы.

Стройностью устремленных ввысь форм храма, изяществом и прозрачностью убранства фасадов, резным камнем заслужил этот памятник мировую славу. Его строители — владимирские мастера — были подлинными поэтами, создавшими каменную сказку, которая очаровывает и теперь своей задушевной красотой. Столь же прекрасен интерьер храма, первоначально расписанного фресками и богато снабженного драгоценной утварью.

Однако раскопки показали, что в древности храм Покрова на Нерли с трех сторон опоясывала открытая галерея, в юго-западном углу которой помещалась лестница, поднимавшаяся на хоры и балкон — «гульбище». Первоначальная композиция здания носила ступенчатый пирамидальный характер. Холм в основании храма — это искусственная насыпь, в толще которой скрыты фундаменты, выведенные до уровня весеннего половодья. Склоны холма прикрывал панцирь белокаменной облицовки.

Официальный туристический портал Владимирской области / vladimirtravel.ru

Объект на карте

Адрес: Владимирская обл., Суздальский р-н, с. Боголюбово