Sign up

Profile photo

* - field required

National tourism portal
ENG
Map of Russia

Sign in


Sign up Forgot password?

The Republic of Crimea , Gaspra

Lastochkino Gnezdo

Ласточкино гнездо
Ласточкино гнездо
Ласточкино гнездо

According to legend, the first wooden structure here was built for a retired Russian army general after the Russo-Turkish war of 1877-1878, but there is no documentary evidence of this. In the 19th century, the court physician at the Emperor's palace in Livadia, Adalbert Karlovich Tobin, descendant of German immigrants, established a health resort that, its small size notwithstanding, was considered one of the best on the southern coast. The doctor's house itself is situated on a sheer cliff, and the cottages were built between the lighthouse and the middle cliff. Even then, the doctor's cottage, which resembles «those stone nests of Ossetian villages on the Georgian Military Road» has been called «Lastochkino Gnezdo» (Swallow's Nest).

In 1901, the dilapidated building captured the eye of the famous Russian painter L. Lagorio, who was visiting Crimea. Inspired by the picturesque ruins on the edge of the cliff, he painted his first watercolor «Lastochkino Gnezdo». The concolorous, slightly vague painting underlines the romanticism of the landscape.

In the period of 1898-1905, Tobin's widow sold the estate to a German Baron named von Shteingel. Baron von Shteingel invited the modernist architect from Moscow, Leonid Shervud, and asked him to design a new house — a miniature marvel of architectural art styled after the German medieval castles that line the banks of the Rhine. So, in 1912 a new stone building named Lastochkino Gnezdo appeared on the slope.

In 1967-1970, structural repairs were carried out. The project was designed architect I. Tatiyev and engineer V. Timoveyev, employees  of Yalta subsidiary of the  Giprograd State Institute of Urban Design.

The upper part of the tower (second floor) was carefully dismantled. All of the stones were numbered. The cliff was surrounded by a seismic-proof belt. Then a cast-in-place foundation of reinforced concrete was built. The tower was then reassembled, and spires were reconstructed on the basis of old photographs and blueprints.

The Lastochkino Gnezdo castle has appeared in several well-known films.  It was the scene of the iconic Soviet film «The Amphibian Man», as well as of Stanislav Govorukhin film adaptation of Agatha Christie's «And Then There Were None».

In July 2011 this architectural and historical monument was rebranded as the Lastochkina Gnezdo Crimea Republic Castle Mansion.

Portal culture.ru



:( Oops. We determined that there are untranslated content. Can use the automatic translation.

Регистрация

Фото профиля

* - поля, обязательные для заполнения

Национальный туристический портал
RUS
Карта России

Авторизация


Зарегистрироваться Забыли пароль?

Республика Крым , Гаспра

Ласточкино гнездо

  • 3
  •  

    Поделиться:

Ласточкино гнездо
Ласточкино гнездо
Ласточкино гнездо

По легенде, первое деревянное строение на этом месте было возведено для отставного русского генерала после русско-турецкой войны 1877–1878 годов, но документального подтверждения этому факту нет. В XIX веке придворный врач императорского дворца в Ливадии, потомок немецких переселенцев Адальберт Карлович Тобин устроил на мысе пансион для больных, который, несмотря на свои небольшие размеры, считался лучшим пансионом Южного берега. Дом самого врача находился на отвесной скале, а дачные домики располагались между маяком и средним утесом. Уже тогда дачу доктора, «напоминающую каменные гнезда осетинских деревушек на Военно-грузинской дороге», называли «Ласточкиным гнездом».

В 1901 году ветхое здание пришлось по вкусу приехавшему в Крым известному российскому художнику Л. Лагорио. Вдохновившись развалинами на краю обрыва, он пишет первую акварель «Ласточкино гнездо». Однотонный, несколько размытый рисунок подчеркивает романтичность пейзажа.

Вдова Тобина продала имение немецкому барону Штейнгелю в период с 1898 по 1905 годы. Барон Штейнгель пригласил из Москвы архитектора-модерниста Леонида Шервуда и заказал ему проект нового дома — миниатюрное чудо архитектурной пластики в стиле немецких средневековых замков на берегах Рейна. В 1912 году на откосе появилось новое каменное здание «Ласточкино гнездо».

Капитальный ремонт «Ласточкиного гнезда» состоялся в 1967–1970 годах. Авторами проекта стали сотрудники Ялтинского отделения «Гипроград» (Государственного института проектирования городов) — архитектор И. Татиев и инженер В. Тимофеев.

Верхняя часть башни (второй этаж) была аккуратно разобрана. Все камни пронумеровали. Скалу окружили антисейсмическим поясом. Затем сформировали монолитное железобетонное основание. Башню сложили и восстановили шпили, по старым фотографиям и чертежам.

Замок «Ласточкино гнездо» также увековечен в кинематографе. Возле него снимался в 1960 году культовый советский фильм «Человек-амфибия», а потом говорухинский детектив «Десять негритят».

В июле 2011 года памятник архитектуры и истории национального значения стал Крымским республиканским учреждением Дворец-замок «Ласточкино гнездо».