Sign up

Profile photo

* - field required

National tourism portal
ENG
Map of Russia

Sign in


Sign up Forgot password?

Vladimir Oblast , Moore

Muromsky Transfiguration Monastery

Муромский Спасо-Преображенский мужской монастырь
Фотобанк Лори
Муромский Спасо-Преображенский мужской монастырь

This Monastery is first mentioned in the chronicles in 1095 in connection with the internecine clashes between Oleg Svyatoslavovich (son of the Chernigov Prince) and Izyaslav Vladimirovich (son of Vladimir Monomakh). Izyaslav died in battle of Murom. He was interred in the St. Savior (Spassky) Monastery, and later his body was transfered to the St. Sophia Cathedral in Novgorod.

There is no further mention of the monastery until the early 16th century. After the success of Ivan the Terrible's campaign in Kazan, several brick churches were erected in Murom, including the Transfiguration Cathedral.  It is currently the oldest extant church in Murom.  In the 1550-60s, another two brick churches were erected on the monastery grounds, the Pokrovsky church and the above-the-gate church of St. Cyril of the White Lake (both were completely rebuilt in the the 17th-19th centuries).

In 1918 the Spassky Monastery was closed on accusations of making propaganda against the Soviet regime. On September 25, 1925. the Cathedral was transfered to the regional museum, and in November 1927, it was rented out to the 41st rifle regiment. Icons that represented historical value were transfered to a museum. In 1920-30s the last necropolis of the Spassky Monastery was destroyed.

From  the 1930s, the monastery grounds were occupied by the military. The monastery buildings hosted classes for officer and signal training.

The military left the grounds of the Spassky Monastery in the spring of 1995. In the recent years, the ancient monastery has been actively restored. The main church and Pokrovksy Church have already been restored. A fence has been erected, and the Over-the-gate church of St. Cyril of the White Lake has been reconstructed, while the brethren's building has been fully restored and modernized. On the monastery grounds, the Chapel of George the Victorius has been established, as well as the new over-the-gates Church of Sergius of Radonezh and the Chapel of St. Xenia of St. Petersburg. The monastery grounds have undergone some landscaping improvements.

The major holy relics of the Monastery include: relics of Saint Ilia of Murom; icon of the Mother of God «Quick to Hearken» (brought to the Monastery from Mount Athos in 1878 and famous for providing speedy execution of requests, help in all sorts of affairs, and miraculous healing); icon of St. Luke (Voyno-Yasenetsky), consecrated on the shrine of the saint in the Trinity Cathedral in Simferopol.

Official Tourism Portal of Vladimirskaya Oblast / vladimirtravel.ru

Site on the map

Website: www.svyto.ru
Phone number: +7 (49234) 2-20-50
Address: Vladimirskaya Oblast, Muromskly Region, Lakina Street, 1а


:( Oops. We determined that there are untranslated content. Can use the automatic translation.

Регистрация

Фото профиля

* - поля, обязательные для заполнения

Национальный туристический портал
RUS
Карта России

Авторизация


Зарегистрироваться Забыли пароль?

Владимирская область , Муром

Муромский Спасо-Преображенский мужской монастырь

  • 0
  •  

    Поделиться:

Муромский Спасо-Преображенский мужской монастырь
Фотобанк Лори
Муромский Спасо-Преображенский мужской монастырь

Впервые упоминается в русских летописях под 1095 годом в связи с междоусобным столкновением между Олегом Святославичем (сын Черниговского князя) и Изяславом Владимировичем (сын Владимира Мономаха). В битве под Муромом погиб Изяслав. Он был погребен в Спасском монастыре, впоследствии его тело перенесли в Софийский собор Новгорода.

Дальнейшие сведения о монастыре отсутствуют до начала XVI века. После успешного похода Ивана Грозного на Казань в Муроме воздвигли ряд кирпичных храмов, среди них – Спасо-Преображенский собор (предположительно в 1554 году). В настоящее время он является древнейшим из сохранившихся храмов Мурома. В 1550-60-х годах на территории монастыря возвели два других кирпичных храма – Покровский и надвратный Кирилла Белозерского (оба полностью перестроены в XVII-XIX веках).

В 1918 году Спасский монастырь закрыли по обвинению в агитации против советской власти. 24 сентября 1925 года собор передали краеведческому музею, в ноябре 1927 года – сдали в аренду 41-му стрелковому полку. Иконы, представляющие историческую ценность, вывезли в музей. В 1920-30-е годы был уничтожен древний некрополь Спасского монастыря.

С 1930-х годов территорию монастыря занимало военное ведомство. В монастырских зданиях размещались учебные классы курсов усовершенствования командного состава, училище связи, полк связи, учебный полк связи.

Воинская часть покинула территорию Спасского монастыря весной 1995 года. В последние годы ведутся интенсивные работы по восстановлению древней обители. Восстановлен главный храм, Покровская церковь, воздвигнута ограда и сооружена надвратная церковь Кирилла Белозерского, полностью отремонтирован и переоборудован братский корпус. На территории обители воздвигнута часовня Георгия Победоносца, новый надвратный храм Сергия Радонежского, часовня Ксении Петербургской. Проведены работы по благоустройству территории.

Главные святыни обители: частичка мощей святого Илии Муромского; икона Божией Матери Скоропослушницы (привезена с Афона в 1878 году; прославилась за скорое исполнение прошений, вспоможение в делах и чудотворные исцеления); икона святителя Луки (Воино-Ясенецкого), освященная на гробнице святителя в Троицком соборе города Симферополя.

Официальный туристический портал Владимирской области / vladimirtravel.ru

Объект на карте

Сайт: www.svyto.ru
Телефон: +7 (49234) 2-20-50
Адрес: Владимирская область, Муромский район, ул. Лакина, д. 1а