Sign up

Profile photo

* - field required

National tourism portal
ENG
Map of Russia

Sign in


Sign up Forgot password?

Tambov Oblast

The Tatar Rampart

In olden times, the Tatar rampart was an impressive fortification. It was as high as five meters, and sloped at 30 degrees. On the external side, it was fortified with a two-meter fosse, and on the ridge of the rampart there was a stockade. Guard towers and quarters were arranged every 300 — 700 meters.  This special construction technique allowed the rampart to stand the test of time.  When constructing the rampart, each subsequent soil layer was banked only after the previous one has been strengthened with fresh turf, which rooted and held the ground together and created safe natural protection against crumbling and erosion. The flanks of the rampart abutted impassable natural obstacles such as rivers, swamps, and dense forests. Riverbeds crossing the rampart were fortified with rubble and vertical posts.  It was impossible to go around the Tatar rampart.

The system of fortifications of the Abatis line, including the Tatar Rampart, played a major role in the defense and development of steppe-frontier territories.  The example of the Tatar raid on Tambov in 1655 is illustrative. A large cavalry detachment could not overcome the rampart without a long stop.  In order to lead horses across the rampart the Tatars had to dig through the rampart, which resulted in a delay and a heavy losses, allowing the town's defenders to organize and successfully repel the attack.

The most well-preserved sections of the Tatar Rampart in the vicinity of Tambov run parallel to the Tsna river along the line from Lysye Gory village to Kuzmina Gat village.  The most easily accessible well-preserved fragment of the rampart is located in the vicinity of Arapovo village near the Tambov-Voronezh highway.  There are also sections of the rampart near highway crossings in the villages of Streltsy and Pushkari.

Tourism Information Portal of Tambovskaya oblast / www.turtmb.ru


:( Oops. We determined that there are untranslated content. Can use the automatic translation.

Регистрация

Фото профиля

* - поля, обязательные для заполнения

Национальный туристический портал
RUS
Карта России

Авторизация


Зарегистрироваться Забыли пароль?

Тамбовская область

Татарский вал

  • 0
  •  

    Поделиться:

В свое время Татарский вал представлял собой внушительное оборонительное сооружение. Высота вала достигала пяти метров, крутизна склонов тридцати градусов, с обороняемой стороны вал был усилен двухметровым рвом, по гребню вала шел частокол. Через 300 — 700 метров на валу были устроены сторожевые башни и городки. Благодаря особой технологии строительства, вал смог достаточно хорошо сохраниться, не взирая на свой возраст. При постройке вала каждый последующий слой грунта насыпался только после того, как предыдущий слой был укреплен свежим дерном, который, укореняясь, скреплял землю, создавая надежную естественную защиту от осыпания и размывания. Фланги земляных валов упирались в непроходимые природные преграды — реки, болота, густые леса. Русла рек, пересекавшие вал, обустраивались завалами и надолбами. Обойти Татарский вал было невозможно.

Система укреплений Засечной черты, включающая Татарский вал, сыграла большую роль в обороне и развитии осваиваемых территорий на месте бывшего Дикого поля. Показателен пример татарского набега на Тамбов в 1655 году. Крупный отряд конницы не смог преодолеть Вал без длительной остановки. Для того, чтобы перевести лошадей, татарам пришлось делать в валу прокоп, что привело к задержке и большим потерям, позволило защитникам города организовать оборону и успешно отразить нападение.

Наиболее хорошо сохранившиеся участки Татарского вала в окрестностях Тамбова проходят параллельно реке Цне по линии от села Лысые Горы к селу Кузьмина Гать. Наиболее легко доступный хорошо сохранившийся фрагмент вала находится в окрестностях села Арапово у автодороги Тамбов-Воронеж. Также доступны участки вала при пересечении с автодорогами в районе сел Стрельцы и Пушкари.

Информационно-туристический портал Тамбовской области / www.turtmb.ru

Объект на карте

Адрес: Тамбовская обл., Тамбовский р-н