Sign up

Profile photo

* - field required

National tourism portal
ENG
Map of Russia

Sign in


Sign up Forgot password?

Magadan Oblast

Talan Island

Остров Талан
Остров Талан
Остров Талан
Остров Талан
Остров Талан
Остров Талан
Остров Талан
Остров Талан
Остров Талан
Остров Талан
Остров Талан

The island is a rocky butte located on the western edge of Taui Bay, nearly 100 kilometers from Magadan, in Olsky District. On a clear evening, the island can be seen on the horizon from the coast of Nagaev Bay. It is a federally-protected natural monument.

The area of the island is nearly 2.5 square kilometers. The top of the island is a flat plateau with rocky ridges and boggy meadows. Cragged screes and headlong rocks up to 150 meters high surround the island on the south, east, and west. The coastline is marked with boulders and reefs, cut with multiple small bays and coves. Along the northwest extension, there is a low meadow terrace with fresh lakes enclosed by a semi-circular stony littoral area.

The average annual temperature is minus 2.3 degrees (minus 15.8 degrees in January and plus 10.6 degrees in August). Southwesterly winds prevail in the summer, and in the afternoon hours, strong winds can create dangerous waves.

The island is especially popular among scientists, researchers, and photographers, because it is home to one of the largest colonies of birds in the northern part of the Sea of Okhotsk. The total bird population is about 1.8 million. They eat nearly 200 tons of fish and sea invertebrates daily. A total of 147 species of birds inhabit the island. Nesting fauna numbers 21 species, including 11 colonial seabirds: kittiwake, tufted puffin, slaty-backed gull, horned puffin, auklet, parakeet auk, spectacled guillemot, murrelet, and gannet. Such rare spices as Steller's sea eagle and peregrine falcon also nest on the island.

Native vegetation is represented by 120 spices of vascular plants. Zooplankton is found in great abundance in the waters surrounding the island, especially near the border of Motykleysky Bay and Taui Gulf. Feeding shoals of pelagic fish gather here: walleye pollock, sand lance, and herring.  In total, 32 species of fish inhabit local waters.



Site on the map

Address: Magadan Oblast, Olsky District


:( Oops. We determined that there are untranslated content. Can use the automatic translation.

Регистрация

Фото профиля

* - поля, обязательные для заполнения

Национальный туристический портал
RUS
Карта России

Авторизация


Зарегистрироваться Забыли пароль?

Магаданская область

Остров Талан

  • 2
  •  

    Поделиться:

Остров Талан
Остров Талан
Остров Талан
Остров Талан
Остров Талан
Остров Талан
Остров Талан
Остров Талан
Остров Талан
Остров Талан
Остров Талан

Остров представляет собой скалистый останец, находящийся на западной окраине Тауйской губы, примерно в 100 километрах от Магадана, на территории Ольского района. Остров виден ясными вечерами на горизонте с берега бухты Нагаева. Является памятником природы федерального значения.

Площадь острова приблизительно равна 2,5 квадратных километра. Его вершина занята пологим плато с каменистыми грядами и болотистыми луговинами. С трех сторон (южной, западной и восточной) берега Талана — крутые каменистые осыпи или отвесные скалы высотой до 150 метров, а самая кромка берега обрамлена глыбами и рифами, изрезана множеством мелких бухт и испещрена гротами. В северо-западной части находится невысокая луговая терраса с пресными озерками, охваченная полукольцом каменистой литорали.

Среднегодовая температура воздуха составляет минус 2,3 градуса; температура января минус 15,8 градуса, августа плюс 10,6 градуса. Летом преобладают юго-западные ветры, причем в послеполуденные часы нередко возникают местные бризы, разгоняющие опасную волну.

Остров особо популярен среди ученых, исследователей, фотографов. В первую очередь по причине того, что на нем располагается одна из самых больших колоний птиц в северной части Охотского моря. Общая численность птиц в колонии составляет 1,8 миллиона птиц. Ежедневно они съедают около 200 тонн рыбы и морских беспозвоночных. На острове встречаются 147 видов птиц. Гнездовая фауна насчитывает 21 вид, из которых 11 — морские колониальные птицы: моевки, топорки, тихоокеанские чайки, ипатки, конюги, белобрюшки, очковые чистики, старики, бакланы. На острове также гнездятся такие редкие виды, как белоплечий орлан, сокол-сапсан.

Местная растительность представлена 120 видами сосудистых растений. В близлежащих водах острова на границе вод Мотыклейского залива и Тауйской губы развивается область изобилия зоопланктона. Здесь концентрируются нагульные косяки пелагических рыб — минтая, песчанки, сельди. Всего в местных водах водится 32 вида рыб из 19 семейств.

Объект на карте

Адрес: Магаданская обл., Ольский р-н