Sign up

Profile photo

* - field required

National tourism portal
ENG
Map of Russia

Sign in


Sign up Forgot password?

The Great Bolgar

Великий Болгар
Boris yusufov

The Great Bolgar is located on the left bank of the Volga 140 kilometers from Kazan, near the present-day town of Bolgar. The area of the ancient settlement is 550 hectares, and the length of its fortifications is over five kilometers.

The religious relic and the historical homeland of the Volga Tatars, known in the Muslim world as the «Northern Mecca», is about three hours» drive of Kazan. It is here that one of the tourist gems of the Republic of Tatarstan, the Bulgarian State Historical and Architectural Museum and Heritage Site is located, in 2014 it was included in the UNESCO World Heritage List.

On the territory of the Museum and Heritage Site there are monuments of architecture of the 12-13th Centuries: Cathedral Mosque, the Big and Small minarets, the Northern and Eastern mausoleums, the Khan's tomb, the Khan Palace, the Eastern, White and Black Chambers, the «Gabdrakhman's Well» complex and others.

The White Mosque, built on its territory in 2012, is considered to be the architectural landmark of the Great Bolgar. The best pieces of the world Islamic architecture served an example for its construction. The ensemble of the White Mosque includes a prayer square, framed by a refined arcade of 88 oriental columns; refined towers of minarets; the main dome with skilfully made stained-glass windows and snow-white buildings intended for the clergy. The interior decoration is no less inspiring: The hall of prayers is surrounded by high columns with crescents, and on the walls one can see an elegant Arabic script — sayings from the Koran.

The same year, a «Memorial sign in celebration of the adoption of Islam by the Volga Bulgars in 922» appeared on the territory of the museum-reserve. It is a building, in the main hall of which there is the sacred book of Muslims, the world's largest printed Koran, recorded in the Guinness Book of Records. The unique Museum of the Bulgarian civilization, the structure of which is harmoniously integrated into the existing relief of the abrupt coast, combines a river station and a multi-level museum complex, built in the classical oriental style. And an interactive Museum of Bread, where all the cycles of bread production are represented — from sowing and harvesting to grinding and baking. On the territory of the museum one can find the Miller's House, a windmill and a water mill, a smithy, various agricultural instruments and appliances, a restaurant of national Tatar cuisine.

Every year celebrations connected with the adoption of Islam by the Volga Bulgaria take place in the Great Bolgar, when thousands of Muslim pilgrims from Russia and abroad gather here. Every summer a bright and entertaining Festival of Medieval Battle is organized here too, as well as many other exciting and entertaining promenades, holidays and events.

Official tourist Portal of the Republic of Tatarstan / visit-tatarstan.com

Site on the map

We recommend

Казань отмечена на гастрономической карте России

08 Aug 2017 The Republic of Tatarstan

В первые августовские выходные Казань посетили участники экспедиции в рамках проекта «Гастрономическая карта России».



:( Oops. We determined that there are untranslated content. Can use the automatic translation.

Регистрация

Фото профиля

* - поля, обязательные для заполнения

Национальный туристический портал
RUS
Карта России

Авторизация


Зарегистрироваться Забыли пароль?

Великий Болгар

  • 0
  •  

    Поделиться:

Великий Болгар
Boris yusufov

Великий Болгар расположен на левом берегу Волги в 140 километрах от Казани, вблизи современного города Болгар. Площадь городища — 550 гектаров, а протяженность его укреплений — свыше пяти километров.

Религиозная святыня и историческая родина поволжских татар, известная в мусульманском мире как «Северная Мекка», расположена в трех часах езды от Казани. Именно здесь находится одна из туристических жемчужин Республики Татарстан, Болгарский государственный историко-архитектурный музей-заповедник, который в 2014 году был внесен в список Всемирного наследия ЮНЕСКО.

На территории музея-заповедника расположены памятники архитектуры XII-XIV веков: Соборная мечеть, Большой и Малый минареты, Северный и Восточный мавзолеи, Ханская усыпальница, Ханский дворец, Восточная, Белая и Черная палаты, комплекс «Колодец Габдрахмана» и другие.

Визитной карточкой Великого Болгара по праву считается Белая мечеть, построенная на его территории в 2012 году. Образцом для строительства послужили лучшие произведения мировой исламской архитектуры. Ансамбль Белой мечети украшает молельная площадь, обрамленная изысканной аркадой из 88 восточных колонн; утонченные башни минаретов; главный купол с искусными витражами и белоснежные постройки, предназначенные для духовенства. Внутреннее убранство не менее вдохновляющее: зал молитв окружен высокими колоннами с полумесяцами, а на стенах можно увидеть изящную арабскую вязь — изречения из Корана.

В тот же год на территории музея-заповедника появился «Памятный знак в честь принятия ислама волжскими булгарами в 922 году» — целое здание, в основном зале которого находится священная книга мусульман — самый большой в мире печатный Коран, занесенный в Книгу рекордов Гиннесса. Уникальный Музей болгарской цивилизации, строение которого гармонично встроено в существующий рельеф обрывистого берега, совмещает в себе речной вокзал и многоуровневый музейный комплекс, возведенный в классическом восточном стиле. И интерактивный Музей хлеба, где представлены все циклы производства хлеба — от сева и жатвы до помола и выпечки. На территории музея можно найти Дом мельника, ветряную и водяную мельницы, кузницу, различные сельскохозяйственные орудия и приспособления, здесь открыт ресторан национальной татарской кухни.

Ежегодно в Великом Болгаре проходят торжества, связанные с принятием ислама Волжской Булгарией, во время которых здесь собираются тысячи паломников-мусульман из России и зарубежья. Каждое лето организуется яркий и зрелищный фестиваль средневекового боя. А также множество других увлекательных и интересных прогулок, праздников и развлечений.

Официальный туристический портал Республики Татарстан / visit-tatarstan.com

Объект на карте